Coca de Quart de Mallorca – Mallorca’s Sponge Cake


Hello beauties! How have you been lately? My life’s been a complete mess (as always). I started working again, I had bad days, better days, lots of work and (as always) I’ve been postponing writing here… Oh man, I feel so bad about it!

But again, here I am trying to stick to my schedule and write here a few times per week (and… as always, any tips???)

Today I want to introduce you one of my favorite Spanish recipes: Mallorca’s Sponge Cake (Coca the Quart de Mallorca). I discovered this cake thanks to a friend of my Mom and one of the best cooks I’ve ever met.  She brought it to a party at my place two summers ago and I could not stop thinking about it until I learned how to bake the most delicious simple cake I’ve tried.

This “Oh so fluffy and sweet!” cake is relatively difficult to prepare but it worth the effort and once you know how it is done, it is a ridiculously easy recipe (it is a big mystery for me how can this happen… )

So, let’s go to the point and learn how we can cook as a Mallorcan Mom, or at least trying it.


Note: I didn’t post a photo mosaic because the pictures were took in a really bad light and they are pretty lame… Sorry!


Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs
  • 200 gr/7.05 oz sugar
  • 100 gr/3.53 oz flour
  • Some icing sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven at 200ºC/392ºF
  2. Separate the egg whites from the yolks.
  3. Mount the egg whites until stiff.
  4. Add the sugar slowly while mixing it with the whites.
  5. Add the yolks one by one and mix them with the paste.
  6. Add the flour slowly and sifting it. Mix it slowly, with a circular movement and always on the same direction. Don’t worry about the lumps, they’ll make the cake fluffier.
  7. Put it on the mold using some baking paper to prevent the dough from sticking to it.
  8. Bake it at 190ºC/374ºF for about 12-15 minutes.
  9. Cool it on a rack and decorate with icing sugar.

Tips

  • As we are not using yeast, the cake will decrease its size while cooling, in order to avoid this, we should “startled” it (I’m not sure if that’s the correct term, we call it like that in Spanish), that means to strike at the base of the mold with the countertop or the kitchen floor.
  • For best results use a aluminium tray.
  • Make sure the cake is well baked, poke it with a toothpick: if it ends up clean, the cake is ready.
  • Be VERY patient while cooking this cake.

I found this recipe one of the easiest I’ve ever seen and yet it is really difficult to get the best results. Don’t get discouraged if the first time you didn’t get what you expected, it took me three times and see my Mom’s friend cooking it once to have a decent result. One thing I can assure you: once you try this cake (and you get the result you expected), you’ll cook it almost every week.

What do you think about it? Any questions?

Happy Tuesday! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Coca de Quart de Mallorca – Mallorca’s Sponge Cake

    • It is one of the best sponge cakes I’ve ever taste. I have my baking season… There are months I don’t stop baking and then stop and don’t bake anything for weeks. It depends on my mood.

      Thanks for your comment and have a nice day!

  1. Wow, It reminds me of a recipe that is handed down. I’d love to try it but baking is a science and I can never get it right. I’m more of a throw it together sort of girl. x

    • The good news of science is there’s always a procedure to do things right. The secret of baking is to know how your oven works and the only thing you can do is bake and bake and bake. But throw together is the best way of cooking 😉 and there are so many delicious non-baked cakes! (Here’s one)

      It is nice to meet you, I’ll stop by your blog later!

Leave a Reply

