Museum Day

Museums, there’s something about museums that I’ve always loved: the silence, feeling history around you,  knowledge, I don’t know something. There you can stand quiet, you can think, you can enjoy art or science or history, I find it so mesmerizing.

When I was 16 I visited Paris on a school trip. We spend there a week and visited everything worth visiting and, of course, the Louvre Museum was one of the mandatory stops. I was so glad we went there with our teachers! One of the teachers spent the whole day with us talking about every room in the museum, not only about the art itself but also about the history or anecdotes of some of the paintings and sculptures.


I certainly know that it wouldn’t have been the same if I had gone on my own. I enjoyed it so much, I remember seeing the Venus of Milo and the teacher was there, telling us about how it was found, how the arms were lost and feeling overwhelmed about how much history we got around us. I found myself thinking about ancient cultures, about archaeologists, about artists about how many people made Louvre Museum possible, about their work and how we were there, staring at it, being mere spectators.

It impressed me, it was the first big museum I had ever been and I’ll never be able to forget it.

Have a nice Sunday!

Leave a Reply

