Cooking Fridays: Chocolate and Caramel Cupcakes + DIY decorations!

Hello again! Here I come with a new cupcake recipe I cooked last week. It was for my sister’s birthday and I wanted them to be special so I create a printable with some coloured flags saying happy birthday to her.
To do the Happy Birthday Flags you will need:

Directions:

  1. Cut the flags.
  2. Bent by the middle line.
  3. Punt some glue on the reverse of the flags.
  4. Put a toothpick in the middle and close.

I found the cupcake’s recipe on my favourite confectionery blog: Objetivo: Cupcake Perfecto, the one in Spanish that I found thanks to my friend Esther. I wanted to follow her chocolate recipe but since I was in Barcelona and couldn’t find the vanilla extract I had to change it for caramel and, once I started thinking, my mind couldn’t stop and ended adding some raspberry jam.

Ingredients:

Biscuit:

  • 2 eggs.
  • 140 g/ 5 oz sugar.
  • 115 g/4 oz flour.
  • 120 g/4.2 oz butter.
  • 2.5 tablespoons cocoa powder (I used Cola Cao, wich is similar to Nesquick but with less sugar).
  • A teaspoon baking powder.
  • A teaspoon caramel.
  • 70 ml milk.

Buttercream:

  • 125 g/ 4.5 oz unsalted butter at room temperature.
  • 110 g/ 5.5 oz icing sugar.
  • 1 teaspoon caramel.
  • 3 tablespoon milk.
  • Raspberry jam.

Directions:

Biscuit:

  1. Preheat the oven to 160 ºC/ 320 ºF.
  2. Line the cupcakes pan with 12 papers cases.
  3. Mix the milk and the caramel.
  4. Sieve the flour, the cocoa and the baking powder.
  5. Beat the butter and the sugar together until creamy.
  6. Add half the flour and cocoa mix and beat untill well incorporated.
  7. Add the milk and beat again.
  8. Add the other half of flour and beat until mixed.
  9. Put the batter on the paper cases. Remember not to fill more than 2/3 of the paper case.
  10. Bake for 22-24 minutes.
  11. Let them cool on a rack.

Buttercream:

  1. Sieve the icing sugar.
  2. Beat the butter and the sugar at low speed for one minute.
  3. Beat the batter at medium-high speed for one more minute.

Putting all together:

  1. Once cold, drain the cupcakes with an apple corer.
  2. Fill the hole with raspberry jam.
  3. Cover the top of the cupcakes with the buttercream.
  4. Decorate with colour sparkles.
  5. Prick the flags on the top and enjoy!

I had so much fun cooking this cupcakes and everyone loved them! ^_^

Have a nice Friday! xoxo

Deborah.

One thought on “Cooking Fridays: Chocolate and Caramel Cupcakes + DIY decorations!

  1. Pingback: Five fave posts | Borondy's Purple Planet

Leave a Reply

