Cooking Fridays: Vanilla cupcakes.

Hey! It’s been a long time without any recipe and I’m starting with a delicious one. I did those yummy vanilla cupcakes three or four weeks ago but I couldn’t share them with you because of my laptop… Since I did my very first cupcakes with my friend Esther, I’ve wanted to do more and more, but I was going to cook them alone this time so chose the easy ones to start. Esther told me about a lovely Spanish blog, and I decided to learn the recipe there, she writes in Spanish (something interesting if you’re a Spanish newcomer on this world) and the explanations are simple. After more than an hour wanting to cook (and eat) every recipe I saw, ended up choosing the simplest: Vanilla cupcakes! I didn’t do exactly the same recipe but it’s almost as she explaines. Here we go guys!

Ingredients: (12 cupcakes, 48 mini-cupcakes)

Biscuit:

  • 115 gr/4 oz unsalted butter at room temperature.
  • 220 gr/7.75 oz white sugar.
  • 3 medium eggs.
  • 200 gr/7 oz flour.
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder.
  • 120 ml/4 oz semi-skimmed milk.
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.

Buttercream:

  • 250 gr/8.8 oz unsalted butter at room temperature.
  • 325 gr/11.5 icing sugar.
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.
  • 2-3 tablespoons semi-skimmed milk.

Directions:

Biscuit:

  1. Preheat oven 180ºC/356º F.
  2. Line the cupcake pan with 12 paper cases.
  3. Sieve the flour and baking powder on a bowl and set aside.
  4. Mix milk and vanilla extract, set aside.
  5. Mix butter and sugar until well incorporated.
  6. Add the eggs one by one and mix until well incorporated.
  7. Aggregate half the flour and beat at medium-low speed until mixed.
  8. Add the milk and beat again.
  9. Incorporate the rest of flour and mix till you get an homogeneous mixture.
  10. Fill 2/3 the paper cases.
  11. Bake for 22-25 minutes or until a toothpick goes out dry and clean.
  12. While the cupcakes are on the oven, prepare the buttercream.
  13. Once baked, let the cupcakes cool on the pan for 5 minutes and then change them to a rack.
  14. When they’re completely cold decorate with the buttercream. You can add some toppings to have a more coloured result.

Vanilla Buttercream:

  1. Sieve icing sugar and put it on a bowl with butter, vanilla extract and milk.
  2. Cover and beat at medium-low speed for one minute.
  3. Speed up to medium-high speed and beat for five more minutes. The buttercream will change to a whiter color and the texture will become creamy.
  4. You can dye the buttercream with dye paste.
I brought the cupcakes to a Birthday Party and they were a hit! Hope you try this new recipe, and if you do, please let me know!!! ^_^
Loves and hugs! 
Deborah.
P.S: Today I noticed that I have a lack of kitchen and cooking vocabulary. Can anyone tell me some synonymous of add and incorporate? Thanks!
xoxo! 
    Leave a Reply

    